Home Page

Governor's Tourism Awards

At the Annual Awards Dinner at the 2018 Colorado Governor's Tourism Conference, awards were presented to individuals and organizations that have greatly contributed to the advancement and innovation of Colorado’s tourism industry. The awards and winners are detailed below.

  • The Colorado Tourism Office Board Chairman’s Award is awarded to extraordinary individuals’ commitment to tourism in Colorado. This year’s award was presented to former Colorado Tourism Board Vice Chair and eight-year board member, Ian Steyn of Larkspur, for his extraordinary commitment to Colorado tourism. Steyn has fought to protect the state’s public lands and to make sure the state’s tourism budget has the funds it needs to thrive.
  • The Outstanding Community Tourism Initiative Award is presented to a community or region that has demonstrated excellence in a tourism event, promotion or project. This year VISIT DENVER recognized for its statewide partnership in serving as host city for the U.S. Travel Association’s annual IPW tradeshow. Held in the Colorado Convention Center in May, IPW brought 6,028 international travel trade and media together in an event that will generate nearly $5 billion in U.S. travel business and economic benefits for Denver and Colorado for years to come.
  • The Governor’s Award for Outstanding Individual Contribution to Colorado Tourism is presented to an individual to recognize his/her tireless contributions to advancing the Colorado tourism industry. For the first time in Gov Con history, the award was shared by two honorees: Gary Schluter, founder of Rocky Mountain Holiday Tours, and Allison Scott, Director of Communications for The Broadmoor.
  • The Governor’s Award for Outstanding Marketing Program recognizes an event or project undertaken by a community or region to promote tourism in Colorado. This award went to Visit Loveland Colorado for creating “Sharing the Love of Valentine Season,” a campaign that peaked interest during a traditionally low-visitation season.
  • The Jack Snow Volunteer Award is presented to an individual(s) who has selflessly dedicated time and energy to furthering tourism in Colorado. This year’s award goes to recipient Cy Michaels, owner of La Quinta in Trinidad and chair of the Trinidad Tourism Board, in recognition of her extensive work to benefit her home community

More information about the annual Colorado Governor's Tourism Conference >>