Home Page

Regional Branding

One of the most frequent opinions voiced in Roadmap listening sessions was that the state’s seven travel regions are doing little either to drive consumer awareness or serve as meaningful platforms for regional marketing collaborations. With the participation of a new Regional Branding Task Force, the Colorado Tourism Office selected an internationally renowned place branding agency, Destination Think!, to shape and brand new travel regions during 2018.

Regional Branding FAQ >>

Destination Think!’s work in Colorado is being led by the firm’s chief strategist and partner, William Bakker, considered one of the top destination marketers in the world. The Destination Think! team is steering a research-based approach to identifying new travel regions and the “Place DNA” of each, relying on a blend of consumer research and Colorado tourism industry insights. The plan calls for testing proposed travel regions in a series of statewide workshops including not only tourism industry representation, but historians, artists, journalists, community leaders and others with deep insight into a region’s unique character. As a final step, Destination Think! will be validating findings with with Colorado tourism stakeholders as well as Colorado travelers.

Once Destination Think!’s work is complete, the Colorado Tourism Office — in partnership with the Regional Branding Task Force and vendor partners — will take the final step of identifying regional naming. In Destination Think!’s view, the best possible outcome would be development of a naming platform that will resonate not only with travelers and tourism stakeholders, but with Colorado residents and the business community as well.

The CTO’s Regional Branding Task Force includes:

Chris Romer, President and CEO, Vail Valley Partnership
Cathy Ritter, Director, Colorado Tourism Office

Justin Bresler, Vice President for Marketing and Business Development, VISIT DENVER
Pam Denahy, Director of Tourism and Events, City of La Junta
Tom Kleinschnitz, Director, Moffat County Tourism Association; Club 20 Tourism Committee Chair
Amy Long, Chief Innovation Officer, Visit Colorado Springs
Jeff Owsley, Director, San Luis Valley SBDC
Kat Papenbrock, Executive Director, Ouray Chamber Resort Association
Kristine Rodine, Tourism Center/Fair Coordinator, Logan County Government and President of Northeast Six-County Travel Region
Katy Schneider, Director of Marketing, Visit Fort Collins

CTO Team Participants
Jill Corbin, Director of Destination Development
Kaiti Jacobson, Manager of Industry Partnerships
Amber King, Director of US Marketing

Current Regional Map (Click to Enlarge)

Back to Key Initiatives >>